You are Here >> >> Contests >> 3 Point Shootout >> 2012


Saturday February 25, Amway Center, Orlando.

3 Point Contest Videos | All Time Contestants | 3 Point Shootout Winners | Records | Rules

Watch 3 Point Contest Recap from

Kevin Love needed more than 80 shots to win this contest, including a 24-seconds tiebreaker in the first a round and an extra tiebreaker round against Kevin Durant to determine the winner.
2011 champion James Jones made a good performance repeating final after a great 22 points first round.
It's not usual that people like Mario Chalmers (18 points) and Ryan Anderson (17) were eliminated, that was probably the best first round since 1996 contest.

Players 1st Round Final
Kevin Love 18 * 16-17
Kevin Durant 20 16-14
James Jones 22 12
Mario Chalmers 18 *  
Ryan Anderson 17  
Anthony Morrow 14  

* Kevin Love won first round 24-seconds tiebreaker 5-4 against Mario Chalmers. He won another tiebreaker in the final.


James Jones will defend his 3 Point Contest title against some of the best shooters of this season, most of them first time contestants.

Player Team 3PM 3PA %3P # Times
Ryan Anderson Orlando Magic 80 190 .421 First Time
Mario Chalmers Miami Heat 57 123 .463 First Time
James Jones Miami Heat 19 47 .404 Second Time
Anthony Morrow New Jersey Nets 60 143 .420 First Time
Kevin Love Minnesota Timberwolves 44 122 .361 First Time
Kevin Durant Oklahoma City Thunder 54 147 .367 Second Time
Joe Johnson * Atlanta Hawks 53 149 .356 Second Time

* Joe Johnson will miss the NBA All-Star Weekend because of a knee injury. His replacement is Thunder forward Kevin Durant.

Kevin Love and Kevin Durant bring All-Star quality to the contest. Mario Chalmers is 5th in %3P, while Ryan Anderson and Anthony Morrow lead the league in 3 points made.
Morrow will wear Drazen Petrovic jersey during the contest to honor former Net star.
Each player have 1 minute to shoot twenty-five 3-pointers. Top three first round results advance to the final round.